Dolphins


When I first heard about Chincoteague Island on a photography meetup, they were talking about ponies and birds.  Slowly more search about this place made me know that this place is awesome for dolphins too.  I have been to some dolphin shows but never saw a wild dolphin happily playing in their own home (Ocean).

All we know is  dolphins are well disciplined and when trained acts exactly what the master says.  But these wild dolphins being not pampered were unique to watch.  They were totally shy and kept moving away from humans. A near sign of human around them also makes them swim miles away.  But luckily, we happened to see two groups  after driving miles into the ocean in our little cruise boat.

Totally enjoyed the fact that these dolphins were not in any zoo or aquarium where they were fed fish continuously and asked to play for human’s entertainment.  From the way they were enjoying their swim, I could clearly understand their freedom and their love for their home. Meeting groups of their friends and families here and there in the ocean and having a great swim.  Just wish all the dolphins in aquariums where they are trapped for human entertainment are released into the ocean and let them enjoy their home like we humans do.

These pictures were taken with my new Kenko 2x Teleplus along with Tamron 70-300 telephoto lens on my Sony a230.

For more pictures of Chincoteague Island birds, dolphins and ponies , please visit my facebook page.

PS:  If you like my pictures, do like my FB page. 😀

3 responses

  1. Sweet -Sweet Dolphins…..

    09/16/2011 at 11:05 AM

  2. Those are beautiful captures.

    09/15/2011 at 9:58 AM

    • thanks Rituparna.. 🙂

      09/15/2011 at 12:05 PM