Focus Stacking


Most of us love to take Macro shots. The first smile for an amateur photographer can be noticed when he/she happens to get a cool macro shot. I bet the picture will be treasured. Sometimes we miss the focus and the focus will be slightly away from your point of interest.Most of them time we delete those pictures. But now, I regret for deleting those out of focus pictures I took.

beginner wrt Photography and two days back I learn’t about “Focus Stacking” . Focus stacking is a technique where pictures of the same object with different DOFs are stacked together to get one improved picture.

For a tutorial on Focus stacking
Vodpod videos no longer available.

To try my hand on what I learn’t, I took the marbles from Chinese Checkers as my subject. I tried to take few macro shots with different depth of field and stack them using the software Helicon Focus (a 30day trial software). I am trying to do a better version of Focus stacking soon and will upload it in my blog.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Some of the common software used for Focus Stacking

  1. Adobe Photoshop
  2. Helicon Focus

For more software details

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Focus_stacking#Software

 

4 responses

  1. Lovely blog !!!

    If I can suggest, current background looked distracting to me… Use something plane in background or increase font size so that its readable… It can be my personal opinion so better to confirm with other folks !!!

    + VJ
    http://www.travellingcamera.com

    01/25/2011 at 9:37 AM

    • Thanks for the feedback. Even I had that doubt initially. But somehow liked it so kept it for a while.

      01/26/2011 at 11:10 AM

  2. very nice photo blog! i like it!

    Worlds Mega Collections of Free Resources- Art, Articles, Automotive, Auto Technology, Blogging Resources, Books, Bussiness, Career, Jobs, Education, E-Learning, Email, Celebrity, Classified, Computers, Internet, Downloads, E-Books, Entertainment & Many More……… Click Here to Check it out

    01/25/2011 at 3:48 AM

    • Thanks Shreya.. Keep visiting 🙂

      01/26/2011 at 11:10 AM