Channapatna- My small toy story


I have always missed my childhood choppusaamaan (wooden cookery set toys).. It almost got registered in my mind that I am not going to see it again.

Every summer vacation of mine, I go to my grandpa’s house at Triplicane, Chennai. There will be some kind of festival happening at the temple and for sure there will be one theer utsavam (ratha yatra utsav). That one week, every evening, the streets will be filled with loads of toys and as a kid, I made sure I get my share of toys purchased.

As years went, we moved out of Triplicane and went I visited a few days back, I saw a lot of changes and of course shops filled with modern day plastic toys..

After moving back to India, one of the memorable trips we made was to Dodamallur Temple, approximately 63kms from Bangalore, Karnataka.  The first thing that came to my notice was the toys shop near the temple. To add my happiness, I see choppusaaman (cookery set toys). They are still there and the same wonderful colors. My joy multiplied as I noticed the entire shop was filled with my favorite childhood toys.  Slowly, developed my knowledge and came to know about Channapatna.. (How ignorant I was).

On our return trip we stopped at Channapatna and my family started purchasing few things. But for me, I wanted to fill my camera with these wonderful toys and keep safe for my memory. I bet, I will still have the same feel and joy as I had seeing them at the shop, even after several years or when  I read this post few years down the lane.

Hubby promised a second trip exclusively for toy purchasing and we are  making it sure all my favorite little ones in our family and friends circle are going to get one gift from us. I simply can’t wait to do this.

with loads of love for toys..

Comments are closed.